First Day at UU

I just finished my first day here at University of Utah.  I’ve made some friends but mostly have kept quiet.  We are a very mature group of about 18 people.  I definitely feel like I am the least knowledgeable of the group.  I may be on par with one or two other people, but mostly everyone has had more in-depth mathematical study, and if they haven’t formally taken more classes than me, then they definitely have read more math textbooks in their spare time.  I don’t fret, however.  I feel intimidated, but I have enough self esteem to know that I am a capable, if not somewhat inexperienced, student of Mathematics.  I will try to go at my own pace and learn as much as I can.  I don’t think I will benefit greatly from trying to “compete” with and compare myself to the others in the group.

 

I feel like some of the people in the group are very one-dimensional.  There is someone who seems to have a complete lack of inner monologue;  he says every thought he has out loud almost just as he thinks it.  He’s a smart guy, but it can be distracting to hear a nonstop stream of thoughts that aren’t always guaranteed to make any sense whatsoever.  I also have thoughts that don’t make sense, but I try not to announce them so steadily.  He is one-dimensional in the sense that all the sentences he phrases, and all the thoughts he seems to have are math related.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it’s this lack of balance that makes him somewhat abrasive.  I believe that understanding logic through Mathematics is key to being a rational person, but there has to be some semblance of well-roundedness for me to be able to enjoy someone’s company.  I consider myself a student of the world, and I find that the most interesting conversations I have are with people who think critically about their own lives and the world they live in.  Perhaps I’m judging the aforementioned internal monologue-less fellow too quickly, but I can’t help but be put off.

That’s all I have to say right now.  I think I will go mail a certain item and perhaps eat some food.

3 thoughts on “First Day at UU

Leave a Reply

