Random Thoughts

So, I’ve been watching youtube videos, and I came across a video of Ray Comfort. If you don’t know who that is, then I’ll tell you that he’s a young-earth creationist with a weekid sweet New Zealand eekccent.  Anyway, the point of the story is that upon submitting a harmless comment, I found that I was blocked from comments by the person who posted the video.  Comments were enabled.  I was *personally* blocked.  I had never seen the video before, and I don’t even think I’ve seen any videos from that person’s account.  A likely scenario is that the person has seen my comments elsewhere, and put me on a block list.  If this is the case, then I feel pretty accomplished!

Random Segway

 

The other thing I was thinking about is the fact that, in general, a negative of a negative is NOT a positive.  This is something that I’ve never put much thought into except in Mathematics, so it’s an easy fact to miss.  Consider the statement:  “I don’t DISLIKE you.”  So, I do not dislike you.  This doesn’t mean that I like you.  I could be indifferent.  Maybe I never heard of you.  A double negative is a positive when the subject is binary.  For example “I’m not NOT purple.”  If I’m not NOT purple, then I have to be purple, since there are only two choices: purple and not purple.  You are either purple or you aren’t, whereas you can both not like and not dislike someone.  Anyway, those are my random thoughts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

