Pot Noodle!

I have been watching a lot of Gordon Ramsay lately, and I love it. Between him and Jamie Oliver’s cookbook, my eyes, ears, and mouth are heavily influenced by British chefs. Today I ate bacon fish, or more precisely, bacon-wrapped tilapia (we substituted tilapia for cod, since the store was out of cod). It was delicious with a hint of rosemary. The whole venture did almost set this place ablaze, but it was well worth it. I also made some delicious chocolate cake with chocolate chips.

I just got back from seeing HP7 again, and it was even more magical than the first time. On the way home, I was mildly startled when I saw the lights of a police car turn on behind me. I was confused, because I only saw a glimpse in the rear-view mirror, and when I checked again, the lights were off. I thought I might have been imagining things until the fucker turned on his lights so he could run the next red light. Why do cops always break the rules of the road?

My research has been going pretty slowly. It feels like I’m walking through mud. I have been trying to pursue an idea of finding the Cayley graph for the Braid group I’m studying, but it seems like there are several problems that sprout up every time I think of something new to try. Professor Hermiller is back in town, and I’m not sure what Jordan and I can say to her.

Not much has changed on the graduate school front, except for the fact that I enlisted the help of a third reference in collecting letters of recommendation. I can’t believe I had never thought of Professor Rammaha before. He is a super cool Jordanian professor who always seems to make me smile with the way his figures of speech and mannerisms. He always says funny things. For example, it was transitioning to springtime when he remarked, “It is almost time to wear shorts. I used to wear shorts. Now my legs are too fat.” He is just great. I also enlisted the help of Professor Jim Lewis in a different task. I was told that professor Lewis has a hand in math education, and I’m thinking about pursuing a graduate program in that very subject. I belong in a classroom, and I have naive and grand ambitions to make significant changes to education, but I’m just not sure which classroom I belong in, or what my next academic move should be. I meet with Professor Lewis tomorrow morning. For now, I think I have to be off to bed.

One thought on “Pot Noodle!

Leave a Reply

