Random thoughts of the day

People are coming over soon! Yay!

Before they do, I wanted to write down a thought I’ve been having. I’ve been watching a lot of interviews and discussions concerning the future of education and the role of technology in that future. I have seen some for-profit models that make campy math video games. I can’t help but think that Mathematics deserves more than campy math games.

In the end, I don’t think that it’s possible to trick people into being good students by dressing up the hard work in high heels and glossy lipstick. In the end, I think students need to be truly convinced that the work they are doing is important and meaningful. The only honest way I can think of to accomplish this is to treat students with respect and ask what they think the role of education is in society and in their lives. Ultimately, the success of each student is fueled by motivation, and the only enduring motivation is that which comes from within. And I can’t help but think that the only way to reach this intrinsic motivation is through deep self-reflection. If I want my students to develop this internal motivation, then I tend to think I should be facilitating this self-reflection.

One thought on “Random thoughts of the day

Leave a Reply

